Keeping your Facebook Page Safe

How to Keep your Facebook Page from being Hackedfacebook hacked

Are you worried about your Facebook page being hacked? You’ve seen it happen. You receive a friend request from someone you are friends with already and wonder why. Facebook has become the number one website on the internet and is used by millions of people. You also might be logged in on many devices, your computer, your laptop, mobile phone or tablet and there is a chance that you may leave your Facebook account on without logging out.

If your account gets accessed by strangers, it could open up a can of worms, so you should seriously try to prevent unwanted access to your account. You may be using Facebook for personal use or also for your business or other types of accounts.

Have you ever had an issue where you had to recover your Facebook account? I have and believe me it’s not fun thinking you may have been compromised or you will lose access to your accounts.

Here are a few ways to help this from happening.

Create a Strong Password – Chances are, you already have your password created for Facebook however it is advisable for you to make sure your Facebook password is one of a kind and different from your other online accounts e.g. email, blog, hosting etc. To change your password, go to Account Settings; General; Password.

Confirm your mobile number – Confirming your mobile number is one of many ways to enhance your account security on Facebook. This way, even when you lose or forget your password, Facebook will be able to send you a new one via SMS. To add your mobile number, go to Account Settings; Mobile and click Add a Phone.

Activate ‘Login Approvals & Alerts’- Login approvals and alerts is an extended security feature offered by Facebook, and it will require you to enter a security code each time you try to access your Facebook account from unrecognized devices. To activate Login Approvals, go to Account Settings; Security, look for Login Approvals or Login Alerts.

Activate Private Browsing – Another way to prevent another person from accessing your account is by activating the ‘Private Browsing’ option from your browsers. All browsers have this private browsing option, and by activating this option, your activity will not be logged into the browsing history.

Don’t ‘Keep Me Logged In’ – The moment you want to login to your Facebook account, at the Log In page, there’s a small checkbox that says Keep me logged in. Make sure this box isunchecked. Then, log in as usual. With this on, you will be asked for your email and password every time you launch Facebook.

Avoid Spam Links – Facebook is always enhancing its features to make sure you are safe from being a victim to scams. The types of attacks include money scams through direct or indirect requests via Facebook messages, chat etc, phishing links that will redirect you to fake websites, malicious links that could retrieve your personal information or even harm your computer. There are also chances you may receive emails from ‘Facebook’ but it is actually from a phishing website, this is part of a scam.

Sign Out after each use – Lastly which is the most important of all (and definitely worth repeating), never forget to log out from your Facebook account

Conclusion:   Now with these options plus one crucial reminder to log out, you can surf your Facebook worry-free. Most of us wouldn’t have thought that our online accounts would get hijacked, but with so many security breaches recently, if this proves anything, it is that there are people out there on the Web who are actively trying to gain access to our sensitive information. Let’s not make it any easier for them.

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s